The historic Evergreen Train Depot located on the old L & N Railroad line in downtown Evergreen was constructed in 1907 and ready for occupancy by March of 1908. The depot was described as an ornament to the town, and pride for everyone, the best and most ornate outside of large cities, according to a newspaper report for that time. There were 3 waiting rooms, sanitary closets, a baggage room, an express room and freight room in the rear of the building. It would be one of the first buildings in Evergreen with electricity. The cost to build the building was $10,000, which equates to about $250,000 in today’s market. Today, the depot is used as offices for the Evergreen-Conecuh Chamber of Commerce and Economic Development Office. The old historical Evergreen Train Depot is a reminder to us when railroad transportation was “king”. This depot was placed on the National Register of Historic Places on April 3, 1975. The little red caboose parked adjacent to the depot was added by the City of Evergreen, and donated by the railroad to serve as a ‘learning experience’ for area school children and tourists.